Winner of 2021 ESAI Postgraduate Researcher of the Year Award Announced

The ESAI are delighted to announce that the winner of our Postgraduate Researcher of the Year Award is Irene O’Callaghan from University College Cork (UCC). Irene's research has focused on the development of a novel technique to improve the detection and quantification of emerging contaminants within the freshwater environment.  Her supervisor is Dr. Timothy Sullivan, UCC.  Congrats to all the team involved.

Read more about Irene’s research here

This year the ESAI has decided to acknowledge the extremely high standard of competition by acknowledging one further entry who was of exceptional standard but just missed out on the overall prize. Katherine Burns (UCD) was highly commended for her project working on contributions and conservation of  Irish Pollinators in Ireland. Her supervisor is Dr Dara Stanley, UCD. 

Read more about Katherine’s research here

The prize will be presented at the opening ceremony of Environ 2022 in Ulster University when the 2022 Postgraduate of the Year Award will be launched. Irene will present her research during the event and will speak the ESAI AGM which takes place on June 21st 2022 @ 5.30pm-6:00pm.


Share This


Latest News

Calling all Members, ESAI AGM March 26th

This year’s Environmental Sciences Association AGM will be held during Environ 2024 in SETU Waterford. All are welcome.  Date:...

Read More

Environ 2024 Save the Date

ENVRION 2024: 34th Irish Environmental Researchers Colloquium 25th-27th March 2024, in conjunction with South East Technological University, Waterford....

Read More